True or False

Let yourself be silently drawn by the strange pull of what you really love. It will not lead you astray

                                                                                                                                                                -Rumi

 

I both love and loathe this quote by Rumi. Obviously, it’s hard to argue with this statement, because everyone wants to validate following their heart. But, really, you can’t always do what you love, and, furthermore, sometimes what you love conflicts with something else that you also love. I recently went to see the animated Mr. Peabody movie, when what I really wanted to see was “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. I couldn’t really take a young child to an R-rated film, but it was more than that: he had his heart set on seeing a talking dog raising a little boy, and watching him laugh throughout the movie really became much more precious than traveling back in time to a mid-20th century Europe.

But that’s not what I set out to write. I’m struggling to remember whether I am writing truth or fiction. Isn’t all fiction, I suppose, just the truth in disguise? And the truth is often shaded with what we feel should be truth or what we want to be true. So….I am still lost. Am I writing fiction or a memoir?

I guess all I really want to do is make sense of everything as the years begin to spiral inward shortening and accelerating. As I do, I keep coming back to that quote by Rumi, and I wish I could kick his ass, because he makes it sound so easy. Anyone who has reached adulthood, however, knows that it is not. There are many, many pulls on your heart and soul. I’ve allowed myself – rightly or wrongly — to go in many directions, and I can guarantee some of them did lead me astray, so the great Rumi doesn’t know everything. But when I get too mad at him, I remember another quote: “The wound is the place where the Light enters you.”

Now, I’ve got enough truth to write fiction…

~ by Dark Landscapes on April 16, 2014.

One Response to “True or False”

  1. This whole thing has a pull. It draws me in. There is that element of like a meter with that needle like thing that sways to the left or right depending on the energy. But I’ve got to say rumi’s the wound is where the light enters you – that’s got power…all power. Run with that cause that light will mean all the difference.

Leave a Reply

 
