Driftwood

(This is written when thinking about the death of my grandfather.)

 

 

This morning I walked the beach alone
and wondered about your journey
It’s been years now since you left the stiff
sheets of your hospital bed
All my ruminations amount to nothing
I know

But still

I’m pulled along

As I look down at the driftwood
that has traveled the tides

Did you float a while and then land at the feet of God?

Is there an end to the spirit’s wafting?
–A leisurely dissipation to nothing is how I imagine it. A faded memory.

 

I want to believe you know
in the Kingdom of heaven
and the ever-after
But full-blown faith requires an intellectual power cut

or a simple sign

something more than this driftwood I step over.

 

 

~ by Dark Landscapes on April 5, 2012.

11 Responses to “Driftwood”

  1. Beautiful

  2. You produced a tear. So lovely. .
    The missing the scent. You are light my friend ; )

    • Thanks. It was a weird walk along the beach. Usually, I love my walks, but that morning, I kept brooding about my grandfather and every other person I’d lost. I get that way sometimes.

  3. absolute faith truly requires a clear sign, our generation believes too much on proofs.

  4. forgot to first write that the poem touches the heart very deeply. the sad beauty reaches haunting level.

  5. this is a very powerful evocative feeling here. it reminded me of my mother’s passing a few years ago.

  6. Thank you for sharing these words. Brings to the surface feelings of sadness, loss, and yet relief that when my grandmother passed recently, she is now with my grandfather.

  7. I feel like that about my dad.

Leave a Reply

 
