Learning

this is a dark landscape
cold and exact
without the stars animations
the silence is so strong
it clubs me into submission
and its nice to be free of choices
nothing moving but time

for the past month
I watched my father slowly learn God’s secret handshake
I listened for his brief whispers
stared intently for days searching for any expression
but his conversation exluded me
and I’m not used to being ignored

I have so much to learn
and I’m sick of being cute
and maybe I welcome this heavy weight
of guilt
pinning me to this bed

~ by Dark Landscapes on March 24, 2012.

2 Responses to “Learning”

  1. this is very moving. one could look into it in a few different ways. the last stanza really solidifies it to the mat.

Leave a Reply

 
